Kathy Bower re-elected to serve on Board of Trustees for Connecticut Community Foundation

Kathy Bower of Southbury was re-elected to serve second three-year terms on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees.

Connecticut Community Foundation’s members have elected Kathleen A. McPadden of Naugatuck to a three-year term on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees. She will join a board composed of local residents from across 21 towns in the Foundation’s service area in Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills.

The trustees lead the Foundation in its mission to create rewarding lives and thriving communities in the region—through stewardship of charitable funds created by donors and through grantmaking to nonprofit organizations tackling pressing community issues.

McPadden has been employed at Ion Bank since 2011 and currently serves as Senior Vice President, Community Relations Officer for Ion Bank and Executive Director of the Ion Bank Foundation. Before assuming her current positions, she worked in the human resources field for over 30 years.

Kathy has dedicated much of her personal time to volunteer service.  She has served on the boards of many nonprofit organizations including Wellmore Behavioral Health, Are You Dense?, YMCA of Naugatuck, American Red Cross-Naugatuck chapter, Morris Foundation, United Way of Naugatuck and Beacon Falls, and Jane Doe No More. She also served on the board of incorporators for Waterbury Hospital.

Kathy’s many honors speak to the excellence of her volunteer leadership. She is a member of the Rotary Club of Naugatuck, an organization that awarded her a Paul Harris Fellow in 2014. She was the 2010 recipient of the Mary H. Connolly Community Caring Award from the United Way of Naugatuck and Beacon Falls, where she has volunteered for over 30 years.  She received the Fredrick D. Zonino Memorial Volunteer Award in 2018 from the YMCA of Naugatuck and was the 2018 recipient of the Lewis A. Dibble Award. The award, presented annually by the Naugatuck Chamber of Commerce, recognizes an individual’s outstanding contributions to business and the socioeconomic well-being of Naugatuck.

Douglas Johnson, chair of Connecticut Community Foundation’s Board of Trustees, said, “Kathy’s decades of community service are astounding. We are humbled and honored that she will share her energy, wisdom and enthusiasm with us at the Foundation. When she volunteers, she is ‘all in’ and no doubt she will inject our work with keen insights and new ideas for helping local communities soar.”

Valerie Friedman and Kathy Kehoe of Washington, Reginald Beamon of Waterbury and Kathy Bower of Southbury were also re-elected to serve second three-year terms on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees.

Carolyn Setlow of Washington departed the board after completing six years of distinguished service.

View the Foundation’s entire Board of Trustees and their including their bios.